The Church of Christ has been meeting in New Concord since 1946. With the encouragement and support of Tom Christy (of Woodsfield) who had children attending Muskingum College, five families began meeting in a small building on Main Street near where the library now stands. They later secured the use of the Grange Hall on Bloomfield Rd. (SR 83 / Friendship Dr.) and met there until they were able to build a building on Comin Street. That concrete block building was dedicated on March 5, 1949. An addition that doubled the square footage of the original building was completed in the spring of 1983. Five acres bordering Maple Lane and SR 83 were purchased in August, 1996. Ground was broken on December 4, 1997, and a new building at the present location was used for the first time in July, 1998. The property on Comin Street was sold to Muskingum College. By 2002, the need was seen to begin planning to add to this building. In February 2004, the congregation started having two morning worship assemblies until the building could be expanded. New classrooms were ready for use in March 2006, and the new auditorium three months later. The church continues to experience steady growth and is blessed with visitors at almost every assembly.